Redemptorists of Australia and New Zealand

Australia, New Zealand and Samoa

Province of Oceania

Bringing Good News to the World

Seasons for the year of grace

The Church’s year begins on the first Sunday of Advent, usually around late November, towards the end of the calendar year. Through the rhythms of the Church’s year the followers of Christ live onto the mystery of God’s saving love.

TreesThese are the season of the year of grace:

  • Advent
  • Christmastide
  • Ordinary Time 1
  • Lent
  • Three Sacred Days / Triduum
  • Eastertide (and Pentecost)
  • Ordinary Time 2 
Even the seasons form a great circle in their changing, and always come back again to where they were. The life of a person is a circle from childhood to childhood, and so it is in everything where power moves”
- Black Elk (1863-1950)

Periodically this site will highlight the seasons for the year of grace.